Coconut Flour Brownies

This week I came across a recipe for brownies on the package of coconut flour, and I decided to give it a try.  It is a “healthier” version of the packaged brownie mix I used to buy, using mainly real food ingredients and no white flour.  I don’t feel great about having an entire cup of white sugar in there, so I may try to find a replacement for the sugar next time I make them.  But this time I made them according to the recipe, and my entire family liked them.  Here is the recipe:

November 15, 2013 023 crop

INGREDIENTS:

1/3 cup butter

1/2 cup cocoa powder

6 eggs

1 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup coconut flour

1 cup chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a medium saucepan over low heat, blend butter and cocoa powder.  Remove from heat and let cool.  In a separate bowl, mix the eggs, sugar and vanilla.  Blend this into the cocoa mixture.  Stir in the coconut flour, and mix with an electric mixer for 1-2 minutes, or until the batter is no longer lumpy.  Add the chocolate chips.  Bake in a pre-greased 8×8 baking pan for about 30-35 minutes.  Allow to cool before cutting into squares.

Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a comment