October Unprocessed – Days 19 & 20

To begin the day yesterday (Saturday), I had an orange.  Then, I decided to make pumpkin banana pancakes for the girls.  I used the same recipe as last week, but instead of the banana, I substituted 1/2 (15oz can) of pumpkin puree.

2/3 cup rolled oats

1/2 can pumpkin puree

1 teaspoon cinnamon

4 eggs

I blended that in a food processor until smooth, and then cooked half of them.  The girls didn’t like them at all.  So, I added 1/2 banana to the remaining batter and blended that in.  I cooked those, and the girls liked that much better.  I served it with pure maple syrup.

October 19, 2013 001 crop

For lunch, the girls had the remaining pizza from last night, and I did finish the crusts.  I also tried a new green smoothie.  This one is called “Tree Fruit.”

Here is the recipe (I halved it):

Tree Fruit    |   Serves 2

3 cups kale, fresh
2 cups water
1 peach
1 pear
2 tablespoons coconut oil

October 19, 2013 014 crop

I found this great article, which inspired me to make the smoothie, even though I didn’t feel like making one.  I was glad I did afterward, though!

http://www.nomeatathlete.com/simple-healthy-eating-guidelines/

For a snack, I had some mixed nuts (cashews, almonds, and macadamia nuts)

For dinner, I had leftovers.  I had the rest of the chicken soup I had made the other day, a slice of deli turkey, and the rest of the pancakes from breakfast.

Sunday, October 20, 2013 – Day 20

I thought the smoothie tasted ok yesterday, but when I tried to have some this morning, I did not like it at all.  I don’t think I will be making that recipe again.  My husband ended up mixing it in with his “mean green” and he drank it.

For breakfast this morning, I had some greek yogurt with granola and an orange.

For lunch, I had a slice of deli turkey as well as the rest of the Pate Chinois I had made the other day (leftovers last a long time when I am the only one who eats them.)  My husband also grilled some chicken for lunch, so I had a few pieces of that (the store bought BBQ sauce certainly was not unprocessed, so I felt guilty about that.)

October 20, 2013 002 cropOctober 20, 2013 003 crop

For a snack, I had some mixed nuts (cashews, almonds, and macadamia nuts.)

My daughters had a turkey sandwich from Subway for dinner, so I just finished what they didn’t eat.  I had some cucumbers and oranges when I got home.

I had some popcorn cooked in coconut oil for a snack, and I sprinkled some cinnamon sugar on it.

I found a Real Food Summit on-line, and I signed up for that in the hopes of finding new recipes and getting some tips on eating real food.  I have not had a chance to check it out yet, but I plan to do that soon and I will post my thoughts on here.  Feel free to check it out for yourself:  http://www.realfoodcon.com.

I have also set up a new Facebook page called Journey to Complete Wellness, where I will be providing “Real Food” Recipes and tips for becoming healthy in mind, body, and spirit.  Stop on by and “Like” the page if that is of any interest to you.  I would love the support! :)

Leave a Reply

